Invisible, I Watch You

I am lint on the carpet

beneath notice

trod upon, of necessity

from this vantage point

I study you

(I can, because you don’t see me)

the dark haunting your eyes

shadowing your orbs

of warmest brown

 

I am the dust motes

swirling around you

invisible in sun’s absent rays

sighing past your soul

this close, I read you

(I can, since you won’t feel me)

the layered stories

sorrow etched upon

your beloved face

 

I am rainbow of future rain

hanging evanescent

over your shoulders

armor stiff in self protection

right here, I watch you

(I can, as I’m not real)

the well-clutched anger

sketched in new hardness

along your jaw, clenched

 

I was the balm that soothed you

until I was the pebble in your shoe

before I became the hurricane

that swept you away

 

Now you are the stone wall

holding back oceans

as if you can contain them

relegating us both

to the depths

 

(photo:unknown)

 

5 thoughts on “Invisible, I Watch You

Leave a Reply

