Sing, Nightingale

my tongue remains

whole, intact

yet strangely tied

on subjects

of my subjugation

a likely consequence

of messages

spoken and

unspoken

on the importance of

politeness

no boat rocking

diplomacy

courtesy

deference to authority

using my manners

being considerate

toward others

being, in general

a good Catholic girl

I am done

biting my tongue

to protect you

from discomfort

at hearing

the reality of

my experience

 

no more

fucking

Ms. Nice Gal

15 thoughts on “Sing, Nightingale

Leave a Reply

